Károlyi Palace

In the Middle Ages, Radvány was mostly part of the estate of Füzér Castle. It was first mentioned in a charter in 1262. In the second half of the 16th century, it was owned by István Báthory, who, in 1585, bestowed the village on one of his familiares, Péter Réthey. Presumably, he was the one who had the first mansion, the ancestor of today’s palace, built here, in late Renaissance style. After that, the owner of the settlement changed several times, and a census was made of the palace in 1679. . . .




You can reach Károlyi Palace, the pride of Füzérradvány, by passing through a fairytale-like row of pine trees. From about 1846 to 1877, Ede Károlyi, the heir of Radvány estate, reconstructed the building formerly standing here in a historicising style based on his own, as well as Miklós Ybl’s plans. The count himself drew up the concept of the palace’s special octagonal tower.


In the 1930s, the Károlyi family turned their palace in Füzérradvány into a luxury hotel. The business became successful in a short time and the palace transformed into a popular resort among the celebrities of the age. The purpose of the café is to evoke the elegant yet friendly atmosphere of life in the palace hotel.


The gift shop, established in the reconstructed Füzérradvány palace, offers visitors a wide range of books, publications, photos, postcards, fridge magnets, ceramics, and porcelain and textile souvenirs related to the various exhibitions and collections of Károlyi Palace.